Navigation Bar Skip Navigation City Council Contact Us Search City Government
Previous Page |

Longmont City Government

The City of Longmont operates under a Council-Manager form of government that provides the political leadership of a City Council with the administrative oversight of a City Manager. There is a seven-person City Council including a Mayor. The Mayor serves a two-year term and the Council members serve four-year terms. The Council appoints both the City Manager and the City Attorney.

The City's infrastructure includes eight departments:

Each department is headed by a director and features various divisions such as Youth Services, Water Treatment, Community & Neighborhood Resources, Enterprise Technology Services, Fleet, City Clerk, Human Resources, the Library and much more. For more information, please click on the appropriate link.

The City of Longmont is governed by a seven-member City Council. The City Manager provides day-to-day administrative management and oversight. The City Attorney serves as general counsel to the City Council and city departments and divisions. The main administration of the City government is located in the Civic Center Plaza, located at 350 Kimbark Street. Other municipal offices include Public Works Operations, Youth Center, Senior Center, Longmont Recreation Center, Roosevelt Memorial Building, Service Center and the Development Services Center.

Community Involvement:

There are many ways that residents can become involved with their local government. The City of Longmont encourages interaction and participation through many levels and hopes that more people take part in the early stages of the Public Involvement process.

How can you become more involved?

Visit some of these links to find out how you can participate.

  1. View the Community Involvement Resource Manual, learn how the city is using this process with different city projects.
  2. Talking with City Council - letting Council hear your ideas and suggestions.
  3. Volunteer for one of the many City Boards, Committees and Commissions
  4. Shaping our future through the Planning Commission and various Task forces